photo © Louise Shapcott
Casalattico in The Val di Comino
The village of Casalattico, sits at a height of 420 metres, overlooking the surrounding picturesque countryside of the Val di Comino. It once belonged to the ancient region of Terra di Lavoro, but since 1927 it is located in the province of Frosinone in an area known as Ciociaria. Casalattico and the nearby village of Montattico take their name from an influential Roman, Titus Pomponius Atticus.
The Coat of Arms of Casalattico
The coat of arms of Casalattico is represented by a tower that supports a bird and on its head stands a cross. Around the emblem are the words: “Universitas Terrae Casalis Attici 1723“. The local dialect is known as Casàlë.
The Historic Centre of Casalattico
The historic centre of the village consists of one main street with many little alleyways leading off it. In the centre stands the Church of San Barbato, who is the patron saint of the town. Some remains of the ancient town walls can still be seen, certain sections have, over time, become incorporated in the town’s dwellings. The remains of a semi-circular tower, which looks towards Casalvieri, is still visible today.
The Comune or Town Hall
The building of the town hall, was constructed in the early 1900’s. It was originally a kindergarten and primary school, built by Don Magno Cirefice, an illustrious citizen of Casalattico. The nursery school was run by the Sisters Campostrine of Verona.
The territory of Casalattico includes a cluster of small hamlets: Sant’Andrea (which has the Chiesa della Madonna degli Angeli), Santa Caterina, Lesche, Fusco, Matassa, Celluccio, Sera, Macchia, Verticchio.
Many of its former inhabitants emigrated to Ireland. Now many of their descendants return to the village each summer in pursuit of their family roots.
Casalattico also overlooks the pass, along the Gorges of the River Melfa, leading through the mountains to Roccasecca.
Website © Louise Shapcott 2017 – 2018 All Rights Reserved
Last Updated Nov 2018